Active Ingredient History

NOW
  • Now
Gluten is a protein naturally found in some grains including wheat, barley, and rye. Although, strictly speaking, "gluten" pertains only to wheat proteins, in the medical literature it refers to the combination of prolamin and glutelin proteins naturally occurring in all grains that have been demonstrated capable of triggering celiac disease. These include any species of wheat, barley, rye and some oat cultivars, as well as any cross hybrids of these grains. Gluten comprises 75–85% of the total protein in bread wheat.   Wikipedia

gluten

Feedback

Data collection and curation is an ongoing process for CDEK - if you notice any information here to be missing or incorrect, please let us know! When possible, please include a source URL (we verify all data prior to inclusion).

Report issue